SBDC Honors First Business Management Graduates | Linn-Benton Community College

SBDC Honors First Business Management Graduates

LBCC’s Small Business Development Center (SBDC) is set to graduate their first cohort of business owners after completion of the nine-month Small Business Management (SBM) program in Sweet Home Nov. 13.

The SBM program, which receives funding from a Ford Family Grant, is designed to impact rural communities and stimulate economic growth through small business development. The 2018 cohort will be the first to graduate and includes nine Linn County business owners.

The nine-month program is designed for small business owners who have been in business at least two years. The result-oriented program meets once a month and includes one-on-one business advising between classes for the duration of the program.

The graduating cohort of entrepreneurs includes Anna Carnegie-Marx, owner of Early Dawn Bakery in Brownsville. Carnegie-Marx joined the program to refine her business model.

“I learned how to focus my energy, how to plan for the future positioning of the business for success, and how to receive feedback from my customers,” she said.

Also included in the cohort are Scott and Miriam Swanson, owners of the Sweet Home New Era.

“I really appreciated the mentorship,” said Scott. “We were a hamster on the wheel, always running and not taking care of the things that really needed to be dealt with.”

Through the SBM program, Scott says they were able to develop procedures that will allow him and Miriam to finally take a vacation and not worry about their business.

In January, the SBDC will launch a new SBM program in Lebanon. The cohort will meet once a month at the LBCC Lebanon Center.

The 2019 cohort will be led by SBDC business advisors, Marlene Peterson and George Medellin. Both advisors bring their entrepreneurial backgrounds and expertise to the class, helping business owners work on their business, not just in their business.

Those interested in the 2019 SBM program should call (541) 917-4929. Registrants before Dec. 14 qualify for an early registration discount.